AMSTERDAM

Mellan Amsterdam och Sverige är det många mil.

My take on Nime Chow

with 7 comments

This months Paper Chef didn’t really make my mouth water. The ingredients were, quinoa, rice paper, tomatoes and yoghurt.First of all I am not a big fan of quinoa. Actually the first time I used it was also for Paper Chef. However, the challenge is not in doing what you usually do. So I give my applause to this months judge and last times winner for his choices of ingredients.

Rice paper have I only so far used for the delicious raw spring rolls nime chow. I guess I am not the only one that will make a version of these.

Ingrediets:

rice paper

1 dl quinoa

2 dl water

a dash of sesame oil

a somewhat bigger splash of fish sauce

lime juice to balance it out

2 tomatoes

fresh mint & coriander

red chilli

black sesame seeds

shrimps

I boiled the quinoa in unsalted water since I wanted the salt to come from the fish sauce.

Yesterday I passed by a new food shop here i Amsterdam where they sell locally produces veggies and stuff, there I found a mix of tomatoes the lend themselves perfectly to my dish. The orange ones where very sweet and the green ones were slightly citric.The green one you see on the pic, looks like cucumber though.

Anyway mix the cooked quinoa with fish sauce, lime juice, sesame oil and the diced tomatoes. Be careful. The sesame oil can make it bitter if you use too much, and quinoa already has a bit of bitterness itself. Fish sauce is very salty so drip it in and taste as you go. Then add a lot of the fresh herbs and some finely chopped chilli to your taste. I like my food spicy so I put a lot in there, and as usual forgot to wash my fingers…….. my eye hurts.

Now for the little shrimp package on top.

I like my seafood so in order to get as much as possible in there I chopped the shrimp coarsely and added a little fresh mint with them. Then sprinkled the little pack with black sesame seeds. Not so much for the taste as for the looks. Rice paper is about as attractive as Michael Jackson.

Now there is only one thing left. The yoghurt. I decided to use the yoghurt as a fresh sauce. The only thing I did was add a little lime juice, salt and fresh chilli.

What is my own verdict?

I liked it and ate most of it before I was ready putting it together. But no, I would not make it again due to the quinoa. It just is not my thing. However, the lite packages looked fun, are easy to make and could be filled with about anything. So I think rice paper in mini versions will end up on a plate again.

Written by magnus

September 4, 2008 at 1:21 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks Magnus, this is so beautiful and I am sure that those of us who actually like quinoa would love to eat this over and over again!

    ilvaberetta

    September 5, 2008 at 7:31 am

  2. Thanks for the compliment Ilva .

    magnus

    September 6, 2008 at 4:34 pm

  3. What a beautiful presentation! I do love quinoa so I will be right over to help you with the leftovers.
    I have never used the rice paper wrappers for little purses before, very creative.

    Natashya

    September 13, 2008 at 6:15 pm

  4. That is beautiful!
    Really fun to use the wrapper for a little purse but the black sesame seeds, well that takes it over the top beautiful!
    I found a red quinoa (said it didn’t need washing & I didn’t) and thought if there was any taste it was slightly sweet.
    Really that is beautiful!

    MyKitchenInHalfCups

    September 13, 2008 at 9:25 pm

  5. I love your beautiful creations and I voted for you. 🙂

    Murasaki Shikibu

    September 14, 2008 at 9:22 am

  6. I like your use of the Rice paper. That was the hardest ingredient to incorporate.

    Mike

    September 15, 2008 at 2:14 am

  7. Hey thanks for your compliment guys.

    Murasaki, I wasn’t aware that the poet was amongst us:)
    Mykitchen, I would love to try red quinoa. Black one also looks amazing.
    Mike, rice paper sucks:)
    Nataschya, try the little purse for sure. It is the easiest and very effectful.

    magnus

    September 20, 2008 at 9:38 am


Leave a Reply

